Department of Mathematical Sciences

Mathematics

Academic staff

Dr B Bartlett
Lecturer
Office: 3005
Tel: (021) 808 3272
http://math.sun.ac.za/~bbartlett
bbartlett@sun.ac.za
Geometry, Mathematical physics, Higher categories
Dr G Boxall
Lecturer
Office: 1009C

Tel: (021) 808 3277
gboxall@sun.ac.za
Model theory, o-minimuality, Number theory, Category theory
Mrs EJ Burger
Temporary Lecturer
Office: 3003

Tel: (021) 808 2628
ejburger@sun.ac.za
Prof F Breuer
Professor
Division Head: Mathematics Division
Office: 1008C
Tel: (021) 808 3288
http://math.sun.ac.za/~flo

fbreuer@sun.ac.za

Number theory, Elliptic curves, Drinfeld modules
  
Prof A Fransman
Associate Professor
Office: 3006
Tel: (021) 808 3884
af@sun.ac.za
Group Theory
Dr J Gray
Lecturer
Office: 1024
Tel: (021) 808 9552
jamesgray@sun.ac.za 
Prof BW Green
Professor
Director of AIMS
Office: 3007
Tel: (021) 808 3284
http://math.sun.ac.za/barry
bwg@sun.ac.za
Algebra and Number Theory, Applications to computational mathematics
Dr K-T Howell
Senior Lecturer
Office: 1009D
Tel: (021) 808 3281
http://math.sun.ac.za/karintherese/
kthowell@sun.ac.za
Nearrings, Near-vector spaces, Semigroup Theory
  Prof C Hui
Professor
Office: 1016B
Tel: (021) 808 3853 
http://math.sun.ac.za/hui
chui@sun.ac.za
SARChi Chair in Mathematical & Theoretical Physical Biosciences
Prof Z Janelidze
Associate Professor
Office: 1023C
Tel: (021) 808 3285
http://math.sun.ac.za/~zurab/
zurab@sun.ac.za
Category Theory, Universal Algebra
Dr AP Keet
Senior Lecturer
Office: 1010A
Tel: (021) 808 3286
keetap@sun.ac.za
Towers of Drinfeld modular curves
Mr J Masuret
Temporary Lecturer
Office:3005
Tel: (021) 808 3272
Prof S Mouton
Associate Professor
Office: 1023B
Tel: (021) 808 3271
smo@sun.ac.za
Banach algebras, Spectral theory
Dr C Naude
Senior Lecturer
Office: 1023A
Tel: (021) 808 3275
cnaude@sun.ac.za
Commutative Algebra
  Prof F Nyabadza
Associate Professor
Office: 1016A
Tel: (021) 808 3274
nyabadzaf@sun.ac.za
Mathematical Biology, Epidemiology
Prof H Prodinger
Professor
Office: 1028
Tel: (021) 808 3273
http://math.sun.ac.za/~prodinger
hproding@sun.ac.za
Analysis of algorithms, Number Theory and Combinatorics
Dr D Ralaivaosoana
Lecturer
Office: 3004
Tel: (021) 808 9506
naina@sun.ac.za
Prof IM Rewitzky
Professor
Executive Head: Mathematical Sciences

Office: 1022A
Tel: (021) 808 3289
http://math.sun.ac.za/irew/
rewitzky@sun.ac.za
Mathematics of Computer Science
Prof L van Wyk
Professor
Office: 1023E
Tel: (021) 808 3280
http://math.sun.ac.za/leon/
lvw@sun.ac.za
Ring Theory, Matrix Rings, Matrix Algebras
Prof S Wagner
Professor
Office: 1008D
Tel: (021) 808 3269
http://math.sun.ac.za/~swagner
swagner@sun.ac.za
Combinatorics, Graph Theory, Number Theory
Ms LK Wessels
Lecturer
Office: 1009B
Tel: (021) 808 3852
lwessels@sun.ac.za
Prof M Wild
Professor
Office: 1023D
Tel: (021) 808 3276
http://math.sun.ac.za/~wild/
mwild@sun.ac.za
Lattice Theory, Combinatorics